Combined 11th Australasian Academy of Cerebral Palsy and Developmental Medicine and the 3rd International Alliance of Academies of Childhood Disability 'Better Together' Conference 2022

Scientific Committee

As the co-scientific chairs we are delighted to welcome you to the AusACPDM/IAACD ‘Better Together’ 2022 Conference. Our scientific committee includes representatives from around the globe, from many disciplines, with broad range of expertise in childhood onset disability.

Together we are planning a world-class, stimulating scientific program based around our theme of Better Together. We will have both local and international keynotes speakers on a range of cutting-edge topics, and look forward to reviewing submissions over a diverse range of presentations.

All our presenters will have the option to present virtually and we look forward to sharing with you some new exciting virtual only formats. As a scientific committee we are dedicated to delivering you an outstanding hybrid conference and will be supporting presenters and delegates prior and during the conference with a range of materials to make the most of engaging audiences globally both virtually and in person to ensure we are Better Together.

Professor Alicia Spittle

Chair AusACPDM Scientific Committee
University of Melbourne

Professor Roslyn Boyd

Chair IAACD Scientific Committee
The University Queensland

AusACPDM Members

Nora Shields

La Trobe University

Kate Cameron

University of Melbourne/MCRI

Siobhan Reid

Human Movement Scientist
University Western Australia

Leanne Sakzewski

Occupational Therapist
The University of Queensland

Alex Pagnozzi

Medical Engineer
Australian e-Health Research Centre, CSIRO

Loren Apokourastos

Speech Pathologist
Cerebral Palsy Alliance

Petra Karlsson

Occupational Therapist
Cerebral Palsy Alliance

Sarah Knight

Murdoch Children's Research Institute

Suzie Miller

Basic Scientist
Hudson Institute, Monash

Michael Fahey

Child Neurologist & Geneticist
Monash Children's Hospital

Shona Goldsmith

Researcher (Epidemiology)
Cerebral Palsy Alliance

IAACD members

Dacy Fehlings

Child Neurologist
Holland Bloorview, Canada

Dianne Damiano

National Institute of Health, USA

Mark Peterson

Exercise Physiology and Health Services Research
University of Michigan

Veronica Schiariti

Developmental Paediatrician
University of Victoria, Canada

Liz Khaemba

Transformative Learning, Kenya

Asha Chitnas

Mumbai, India

Fabiola Barron

University of Nuevo Leon, Mexico

Guro L. Andersen

The Cerebral Palsy Register, Vestfold Hospital Trust, Norway

Sylvain Brochard

MD Pediatric Rehabilitation
BEaCHILD Research and Innovation Centre, France

Egmar Longo

Physical Therapist
Academia Latinoameriana de Desarrollo Infantil y Discapacidad, Brazil

De Wu

MD, Physician
Southern China University, China

Nelleke Langerak

PT, Bioengineer
University of Capetown, South Africa

MinYoung Kim

MD, Physician
CHA University, South Korea

Unni Narayan

Paediatric Orthopaedic Surgeon
Toronto Sick Children's Hospital, Canada

Yukihiro Kitai

Child Neurologist
Bobath Memorial Hospital, Japan

Jessica Rose

Scientist, Orthopaedics
Stanford University, USA

Acknowledgement of Country

Better Together 2022 acknowledges Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples as the Traditional Custodians of the land and sea in which we live and work, we recognise their continuing connection to land, sea and culture and pay our respects to Elders past, present and future.